You have an Azure SQL Database, it could be a single database, it could be a primary database within a failover group. Regardless of the context, what would you do if you need to upgrade the compute tier for the database but then you decide you no longer want to do this and want to immediately cancel it? In the past people just let the system carry out the task then once complete, rollback.
Let’s look at an example.
I have test_db here. This is a General-Purpose database; I want to move this to the Business-Critical tier
Once I select the right number of vCores etc I then submit the request. Head back to the main SQL Server dashboard and you will see a message like shown below. I don’t want to do this anymore.
Click it, you will see the cancel operation is available.
A really short but useful tip for today.